The storm is brewing

It’s been only 2 days and the tension is visible and taut already.

Every afternoon, his bursts of anger have re-started after a nice mellow Summer.  I am already finding it difficult to connect with him and keep my inner peace.

While I was expecting this change, I thought the ‘honeymoon’ would last at least a month.

I am keeping low, letting him guide the time and do his work according to his wishes.  I am trying not to let him rile me up.

I am fed up of family telling me that it’s only till he get used to school again.  There is nothing to get used to really! He knew the class and children and teacher.

Yesterday the highlight of school was no punishments! The second piece of information he felt he had to disclose was that they got a sticker chart….yeah you know the incentive?  Upon asking indirectly about his day as in anyone made you laugh etc etc his reply was I do not know I do not want to talk about it.  Eventually I asked how he’d rate his day and gave me a 5 out of 10.

Today’s highlight was he got a sticker but he wouldn’t say why and he wouldn’t say anything else about school – except that he was angry as he didn’t have enough time to draw and had to draw it for HW.  The rating again was 5.

And since 5 seems to be the good days, I shudder at the thought of the bad days.  I vacillate between seeing what the school think they can offer as help because again counsellor will not help solve the issue.

So I brace myself for what is to come and trust I have enough positive discipline ingrained in me now to help me weather this storm brewing

Leave a Reply

